Sylvia was a fantastic coach to the women’s basketball team at UNC.

University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, NC

The Tar Heels has been in all but seven NCAA Tournaments. Their biggest success came in their 32–2 1993-94 season under Head Coach Sylvia Hatchell, which ended with a national championship. 

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX

The Lady Raiders won the 1993 National Championship with superstar Sheryl Swoopes, who became the 1st player to sign a WNBA contract when the league was created in 1997. She then helped the Houston Comets get four-straight WNBA championships. 

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY

The Wildcats have become well-known for having a solid program. They have earned six straight 20-win seasons, each ending with an NCAA Tournament appearance.

Georgia Tech University

Atlanta, GA

The Yellow Jackets have been in the NCAA Tournament nine times (1993, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014).


The Best Women’s Basketball Teams in the History of NCAA Championships

In order to get you hyped for the women’s championship, here is a peek at the top five teams to ever be in the NCAA women’s basketball tournament.


Louisiana Tech 1982

The NCAA Championship is still a somewhat new event for women’s college basketball, only implementing March Madness 37 years ago. Louisiana Tech won the 1st national championship in 1982.


Texas 1986

32 years ago, Texas Women’s Basketball became the 1st team in NCAA history to have a perfect season (34-0). Jody Conradt coached the only Texas Women’s team to a championship. 


Tennessee 1998

After winning back-to-back championships in 1996 and 1997, Summit surpassed all expectations by going 39-0 in the 1997-98 season and earning a third consecutive title. 


UConn 2002

When UConn became the 4th team to hoist a perfect season (39-0) in 2002, thoughts started to circulate if the Lady Huskies were the top team in women’s college basketball history. 

UConn 2009 and 2010

The Huskies went two straight seasons undefeated. If that wasn’t a huge accomplishment, the program is the only team in NCAA Division I women’s basketball history to be undefeated national champions consecutively.