These coaches are some of the best.

College basketball is home to some of the longest, greatest tenured coaches in all of the sports. Tenure is a thing that coaches earn with on-court success and with coaching tenure comes program stability.

Duke men’s basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski has had the Blue Devils’ job since the 1980–81 season. He is the only coach that the NCAA acknowledges as a part of the 1,000-win club.

Since 2011, Coach K has owned the all-time wins record for a men’s college basketball coach. But the huge milestone he obtained in 2015 (1,000 wins) made everyone wonder about what other men’s college basketball coaches got the most wins of all time. Here’s are some of the winningest coaches in college basketball history.

Lute Olson

Career Wins:  776   

NCAA Tournament Titles: 1

Final Fours: 5


Lute Olson is the one that put the Arizona Wildcats on the college basketball map. After stints with Iowa (nine seasons) and Long Beach State (one season), he accepted the Arizona job and went on to spend the last 24 years of his great coaching career leading the Wildcats. In 2002, Olson was inaugurated into the Basketball Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006.


Lefty Driesell

Career Wins:  786

NCAA Tournament Titles: 0

Final Fours: 0


Lefty Driesell never got any of his teams to Final Four appearance a national title, but he is still one of the winningest coaches in college basketball history. He had jobs at James Madison (nine seasons), Georgia State (six seasons), Davidson (nine seasons), and Maryland (17 seasons). Driesell is the one responsible for beginning the “Midnight Madness” craze (at Maryland). In 2007, he joined the College Basketball Hall of Fame.


Mike Krzyzewski

Career Wins:  1,070

NCAA Tournament Titles:  5

Final Fours:  12


Coach Mike Krzyzewski spent five years as the head coach at Army before accepting the job at Duke. All he has done in his time at Duke is win 14 conference tournament titles, five national titles, make 12 Final Fours, and win 12 regular-season conference titles.